USC Stem Cell researcher Cheng-Ming Chuong named fellow of national science association

Cheng-Ming Chuong (Photo courtesy of Cheng-Ming Chuong)
Cheng-Ming Chuong (Photo courtesy of Cheng-Ming Chuong)

Keck School of Medicine of USC scientist Cheng-Ming Chuong has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Chuong, professor of pathology at the Keck School and principal investigator with USC Stem Cell, is the only USC faculty member to be elected this year.

The award, given to AAAS members by their peers, was formally announced in the association’s News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 28.

Chuong’s research focuses on morphogenesis — how cells are assembled into functional forms. Some of his recent research studied the cellular and molecular basis of complex pigment patterns in bird feathers to understand how stem cells become organized into particular tissue patterns and shapes.

Over the years, 94 USC faculty researchers have been named AAAS fellows. This year, 401 members were awarded this honor because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering, respectively) on Feb. 14 at the AAAS Fellows Forum in San Jose.

The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Members can be considered for the rank if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution) or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

Fellows must have been continuous AAAS members for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected. 

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, as well as two delegates from the National Association of the Academies of Science.

Mentioned in this article: Cheng-Ming Chuong, MD, PhD